Youtube Twitter Facebook
italiano print send send Skype
profiles - projects - nicola sani - biography


- bio - works - recordings - projects
Nicola Sani
Photo IMEB Bourges
Nicola Sani - Biography
Ferrara, 1961

Non tutte le isole hanno intorno il mare. Isola I
for amplified viola and tape
© Sugarmusic spa Edizioni Suvini Zerboni - Milano
Nicola Sani was born in Ferrara in 1961. His musical training included studies in composition with Domenico Guaccero and Karlheinz Stockhausen and electronic music with Giorgio Nottoli. He is the author of a large number of instrumental and electroacoustic compositions, stage operas, dance operas and multimedia installations commissioned, produced and performed by internationally renowned Institutions, ensembles and soloists within the most important seasons and festivals worldwide.
Most relevant awards include: "Prix Ars Electronica" Linz, special jury mention at the Prix Italia, "Erato Prize" of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Guggenheim Prize, International Giuseppe Verdi Prize.
Nicola Sani's compositions are published by Edizioni Suvini Zerboni, Milan.
He was curator of the music section of the Festival Arte Elettronica in Camerino, of the Electronic Art section of the Festival RomaEuropa and artistic director of the Contemporary Chamber Music series "Emergenze" in Rome. He is currently member of the artistic board of the IUC-Istituzione Universitaria dei Concerti in Rome (University Concerts Institution).
He is artistic director of the "Sonora" Project, founded by the Italian Foreign Affairs and Culture Ministry with the purpose to promote the Italian New Music worldwide.
Since October 2004 Nicola Sani is President of the "Scelsi Foundation" in Rome and since July 2006 he is member of the board of the Teatro dell'Opera di Roma (Rome's Opera House).
He is designated as the new Artistic Director of the Teatro dell'Opera di Roma, starting from January 2009.
He writes for the musicological review Musica/Realtà. He is the author of the book "Musica Espansa" (co-author Francesco Galante) published by Ricordi-Lim, Milan.

Updated to 02/2011