Youtube Twitter Facebook
italiano print send send Skype
profiles - composers - guido baggiani - biography


- bio - works
Guido Baggiani
Guido Baggiani - Biography

E con il suono, per un istante l'Eco fa ritorno
for orchestra
Orchestra Regionale del Lazio
© EDIPAN - Roma

He studied music at the "Santa Cecilia" Conservatory of Rome under the guidance of Boris Porena and, subsequently, at the Rheinische Musikschule of Köln with Karlheinz Stockhausen.
Since 1970 he has been professor of composition at various conservatories, first Pesaro, then Perugia and finally the "Santa Cecilia" of Rome.

In 1977 he and Walter Branchi founded "Musica Verticale", an association for the study and diffusion of contemporary music.
Baggiani made his debut as composer in 1967 for Nuova Consonanza with Mimesi, conducted by Gilbert Amy. In 1974 his work Memoria for chamber orchestra and electroacoustic device was given at the Festival of Royan. He was afterwards invited to the United States as representative of Italy at the festival commemorating Charles Ives.
The French Government commissioned two works: in 1977, Contr/Azione, to the memory of Charles Ives for two orchestras, which was given its first public performance by the Orchestre Philarmonique de Lorraine, and in 1978 a work for chamber orchestra, Double, premiered at "Collectif 2e2M" of Paris in 1979.

During the Eighties, Baggiani dedicated himself to investigating electroacoustic and instrumental techniques, experimenting the possibility of their reconcilement.
In 1986 L.I.M. of Madrid commissioned a quartet, Danza and in 1989 he composed, commissioned by G.M.E.B. of Bourges, the electroacoustic-digital work A più voci nell'ombra, which was given its first public performance at Bourges in 1990. In the same year, the Orchestra Sinfonica di Roma, under the direction of Antonio Ballista, performed his work Gongora for soprano, piano and orchestra.
Among his recent works: Perso per perso, a madrigale drammatico to a text of Valerio Magrelli which was staged at Florence's Teatro Comunale, producer Giorgio Pressburger

Updated to 12/2008