Youtube Twitter Facebook
italiano print send send Skype
activities - attività internazionali - irem 02-07 - 2004


RAI Radio3 and Federazione CEMAT

IREM 2004

10th International Rostrum Electroacoustic Music 
in memory of Guy Huot

Rome May, 10-13 - 2004

The 10th edition of the International Rostrum of Electroacoustic Music took place in Rome at Sala A RADIO RAI (Via Asiago 10) hosted by RAI Radio 3 in collaboration with Federazione CEMAT. This two-yearly competition launched by ICEM (Confédération Internationale de Musique Electroacoustique) and organised by IMC-Unesco, Paris (International Music Council) consists of the selection of Electroacoustic Music works, by composers who are still active in the field, presented by European and international broadcasting organisations or ICEM National Federations.
The previous edition took place in Copenhagen in 2002, and was hosted by the Danish National Radio and the Swedish National Radio; on that occasion Italy got outstanding results, as it was the first time in the history of IREM that a composer, the Italian young musician Emanuele Casale, won both sections seniores and juniores; furthermore, another Italian composer, Luigi Ceccarelli, was awarded one of the mentions.
The winners of this competition were awarded a particular prize: the winning works were included and broadcast for the two upcoming years, in the programmes of the broadcasting organisations, that took part in the IREM. 
The National Broadcasting Organisations that have participated to the Rostrum in Rome: 
Argentina (FARME, Federacion Argentina de Musica Electroacustica
in collaboration with Radio Nacional Argentina; Radio Cultura), Austria (ORF), Belgium (RTBF In collaboration with the FeBeMe, Fédération Belge de Musique électroacoustique; VRT Klara), Canada (SRC Société Radio MTL-Canada), Chile (CECH, Comunidad Electroacoustica de Chile in collaboration with Radio Beethoven), Columbia (ACME, Asociacion Colombiana de Musica Electroacustica 
in collaboration with Radio Nacional Colombia), Czech Republic (Radio National Czech), Denmark (DKDR Radio Klassik), France (INA Institut National pour l'Audiovisuel in collaboration with Réunion pour la Promotion et l'Enseignement de la Musique Electroacoustique, French federation of ICEM), Germany (Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg), Hungary (Magyar Radio of Budapest in collaboration with the Hungarish federation of the ICEM), Indonesia (Suara Surabaya Organisation), Italy (RAI Radio3 in collaboration with the CEMAT, Italian federation of the ICEM), Lithuania (National Broadcasting Organisation), Mexico (Broadcasting Mexican Institut), Netherlands (NLNPB-Dutch Public Broadcasting Company), Norway (Norwegian National Radio NRK), Poland (Polish National Radio program 2), Portugal (Radio Nacional Portugal in collaboration with Miso Music Portugal, Portuguese federation of the ICEM), Russia (Radio Orpheus in collaboration with the Russian section of the ICEM), Slovak Republic (Radio National Slovakia in collaboration with the CECM, Center for Electroacoustic and Computer Music Bratislava, Slovak federation of the ICEM), Slovenia (Radio National Slovenia), Sweden (Sveriges Radio), Switzerland (SRG SSR idée Suisse).

The schedule included also two concerts with works for instruments and live electronics by Italian composers.
The works selected to represent Italy were:

Fabio Cifariello Ciardi (Rome, 1960) Limens Limine (2003-2004) for voices and electronics
Maurizio Martusciello (Naples, 1961) Exceptio 07 (2003) for tape
Michele Tadini
(Milan, 1964) Buleria (2003) for flute, piano and electronics 
Stefano Trevisi (Mantua, 1974) Swallow I (2002) for female reciter and tape

Selected works:

General Category:
Cezary Duchnowski (1971) Monada 3 for voice, piano and computer (2003)
Production: Polish Radio Experimental Studio, Author' Studio, Academy of Music Wroclaw
Agata Zubel voice
Cezary Duchnowski piano, computer

Composers under 30 Category:
Rudolf Pepucha (1975) The End (2004) for electronics
Production: Author' Studio and Experimental Studio of Slovak Radio

Recommended works:
Benjamin De La Fuente (1969) Le Vertige du Papillon (2003)
Production: IMEB / Bourges
INA Institut National pour l'Audiovisuel - FRANCE
João Pedro Oliveira (1959) Litania (2003) for tenor saxophone, guitar and electronics
Ensemble Cattrall
Production: Aveiro, Portugal
Annette Van De Gorne (1946) Ce qu'a vu le vent d'Est (2003)
Trevor Wishart (1946) Imago… to see a world in a grain of sand (2002)
for electronics
Production: Author' Studio
Rundfunk Berlin - Brandenburg - GERMANY